Hello Everyone! This is my Second blog entry and it will be about my brand Hershey’s. Hershey’s interested me for many ways, starting with the fact that it’s my favorite brand for dark chocolate. I have an obsession with chocolate and when I had to think of a brand it was the first brand that actually popped into my mind. I remember going to Hershey Park back when I was 12 and absolutely fell in love with it! There was no better place to be as a 12 year old. It is a treat that I was given when I got a good grade, cleaned my room or even made my parents happy. What shocks me is that it is sold in over 90 countries. This means that the company is right up there with McDonalds and Coca-Cola when it comes to being a recognized brand world-wide! How Awesome?

Creation Story: Hershey’s was founded in 1894 by Milton Hershey. The Official website states that it ‘all started with a decision’ and how Milton made this risky choice to open a chocolate factory in Pennsylvania but after doing research I read that he had a candy shop prior to opening his factory. Milton made sure that his chocolate was affordable to all people that were in the mood for a taste of heaven! The company had immediate success and because of this Milton decided to open yet another company near New York to make it easier for shipping products.Hershey’s is the largest chocolate company in America. The company continues to grow as it purchases other smaller companies.

The Creed: Hershey Company’s vision is to be ‘the world’s first choice for chocolate everywhere, every time’ as their site states. The founder of Hershey’s, Milton always had the mission to produce different chocolate flavors with best price for everyone and make sure it was affordable. He always wanted to make sure that everyone can eat his chocolate even if they weren’t as wealthy to.

Icons: There aren’t many icons for Hershey’s, only it’s logo that I would know anywhere which is just a long rectangular bar that’s brown and Hershey’s is written in bold white letters on the front. I attached a photo for everyone to see! it’s pretty well known. A famous saying that I’m sure everyone has heard in the commercials is “There’s something for everyone!”.
Hershey logo

The Rituals: I think that Hershey’s chocolate really has a great relationship with it’s customers and has given them many experiences that are truly memorable. When I think of Hershey’s kisses, I remember of the many times I was surprised with them on Christmas or a holiday and It’s truly an experience. Also, when I was younger, every year I would write a letter to Hershey’s about how I adored their company and would always get a loveable response! They would also send me free samples! It made my day as a child and I truly think that makes their company very respectful.

The Pagans: What Hershey’s is not? Hershey’s is not a company that is looking to just sell products and not care for their customers or public opinion. Hershey’s sells all quality chocolate and it’s all made with patience and love by people that want to make it. Maybe if I wanted to say something about Hershey’s it would be ‘not a gummy or a twizzler’, considering it’s basically strictly chocolate in anything they make.

Sacred Word: For Hershey’s there may be many ‘sacred’ words that only belong to this company. For example, kisses. Kisses is the only sort of chocolate type/shape/form that this company owns. It’s sacred to them because they’re the creators and are the only ones that use this refering to something of theirs. M&M’s is another example! Many other chocolate brands that they’ve created.

The Leader- All these aspects make Hershey’s chocolate. From the creation story to the Sacred words of the company. The company has it’s own legacy that has been going on for over a hundred years. Milton had a dream and made it come true before he deceased. A quote by him that interested me is this one “My experience has shown me that the people who are exceptionally good in business aren’t so because of what they know, but because of their insatiable need to know more.” He had a lot to offer and truly offered it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hershey_Company
http://www.thehersheycompany.com/about-hershey/our-story/hersheys-history.aspx
http://www.summary.com/book-reviews/_/Primal-Branding/

